Colouring books

~ an update ~

The last four days have been quite intense. I have a system for uploading colourful and colouring artwork for sale. (At wildersoul.wordpress.com) The mix of black and white, with colour in some of my previews appeals to me, and I have a feeling that this colouring book style is going to affect my paintings… Everything is set up for me to start painting.

The plan is to take Friday off from the usual routine, and spend some time perhaps painting, and following Job Leads. Or self-employed Artist leads… The blog may be updated with the next letter of the alphabet, U.

It seems like no problem at all to carry on producing a colouring book pic every day. Each one is hand-drawn and I think of it as my Artist’s Sketchpad. A place to show sketches that may turn into paintings.

The pain in my left shoulder/neck has disappeared. And some Playground Therapy yesterday did me a world of good. The stress had started to build up, and going for a really high swing helped to defuse it, and I found I could breathe properly again. Then a few slides down the bumpy slide for kids a lot younger than I, and I could giggle again… and again…

I highly recommend Playground Therapy.

It also does wonders for the self-esteem. Nothing like hearing you’re amazing, from the mouths of babes. I wonder how high they will attempt to swing tomorrow!

That’s the physiological de-stress. Here’s my mental de-stress technique: If I am pressured to desert my kids with the threat of losing half of our current income, then I will go bush. This is my mental “escape hatch.” It is my way of accepting the worst that could happen, and be totally prepared to face it. An interesting novel caught my eye, which has a colourful description of the slums of India. Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts. People made their dwellings out of whatever was on hand. And there was a huge community all living together in the same conditions. The “happiness” is found in everyone being in similar circumstances. It is harder living poor in among the rich. I remember Gandhi wearing his large white sheet, and it didn’t matter where he went, or what dignitaries he met with, he wore what he wore. A man in uniform asked him if he felt underdressed for the occasion. To which Gandhi asked if the heavily decorated and uniformed man felt overdressed.

Full steam ahead. I want to be earning at least some money from my colouring book, and other art, within the next two weeks. Then I have an appointment where I will need to bring evidence of the work and learning I have put in towards setting up this online business. As well as, at the same time, showing that I am looking for any suitable/appropriate work available.

That means writing a CV. I will post it, and link to it on all my blogs. And I will think up a list of things I could possibly offer to do for others for money. Sounds serious doesn’t it! I am required to be working part-time, or in some sort of approved training course, in addition to homeschooling. I am working and learning. The only missing ingredient is the money. Any tips are much appreciated.

I have been told that doubling my price and offering different ‘levels’ of product could work. My introductory prices for September are to get the ball rolling, and make sure that my system works. I intend to aim next for the Fine Art – Digital Art market, and get serious about painting. While retaining the colouring book theme, and the therapeutic angle. I have some leads for places to display or promote my work.

That’s my life update on colouring books for tonight. It’s been a long day. Hope you enjoy the splash of colour at the Wildersoul Colouring Book.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 532 other followers

