Tell it how it is

Don’t short-change me

I want it all

Here and now

 

Tell me how it is

Don’t spare me

every morbid detail

 

Tell me how it is

Bad

Worse

Better

 

Tell me how it is

Through canyons of deep thought

and pain-ridden valleys

 

Tell me how it is

dancing on a ray of sunshine

long legs arching down to earth

 

Tell me how it is

Solve the riddle

Turn the key

 

Tell me how it is

Arrival ached for

Long delay

 

Tell it how it is

Is it Stay?

Is it Go?

 

Tell me how it is

Love?

No?

 

Tell me how it is

How far have we come?

How far do we go?

 

Tell me how it is

Forgive me?

Love me?

 

Tell me how it is

I care.

 

And yet… there is something harder there

 

When you hurt

(As we all do)

When your heart wants “I’m sorry”

 

When guilt is rejected

Like a small child ignored,

in the corner with dirty hands

 

When forgiveness flees

(stomped on by Hate)

 

When mercy is an unknown stranger

passing through unnoticed

 

And “Tell It How It Is”

is shouted viciously

by those who don’t believe

a word

I say

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

