I cleared my throat

I cleared my throat
Bits of hurricane came out
Shed plank splinters
ripped shreds of corrugated iron

And the worst of the damage
red raw and swollen
inside my tonsils…
I coughed

And my lungs expelled
the last of the whirlwind
twirling up
into the sky

I popped a peppermint
which cleared the debris
from my nose,
and gulped down fresh air

Then I tried to speak.

I sipped some water
Cool on my throat
And the words
started to flow

~

Ever had trouble saying what you really want to say? 🙂

Leave a comment

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

