Time Management

Righto… If I want to earn $10,140 (ish) for the year, and I need to show some sort of results in one month, then this is how time fits in to the plan.

I am offering a colouring book of 365+ pictures for $12.

Which is enough to colour one picture every day for a year, and includes access to colouring pictures on the blog for all of 2013.

(If you would like one, please email wildersoul@gmail.com to let me know! )

It will be instantly downloadable, so people can print it forever from their computer without having to spend on internet access every time they search for a picture to colour in. Also, if they are a hospital or a therapist, or a community art group, then they can print as many copies of the colouring pictures as they like, for the group of people in their care.

So… I aim to send invitations to 1000 different organisations, or people, during the month of September. Seems like a big number, so I broke it down.

That’s 30 invitations each day for 30 days. (I am rounding it for ease of calculation). Comes to 900, and that’s okay, because $12 x 1000 is $12,000.

Because that still sounds like a lot to me, who is a bit of a hermit when it comes to approaching people, I broke it down a bit further.

15 contacts in the morning, and 15 contacts in the evening,

for the 30 days of September.

And that’s the plan. I hunted through the Yellow Pages, and White Pages, and have the first two days of invites written up to start tomorrow. One page for each set of 15 contacts. Although, I may simply take all the broad categories of people, and send invitations via the internet to similar groups online, rather than local. (This is because a lot of the “local” ones are outside my free calling area by phone). I’ll try a combination of both local and online.

Next step is to zip up all the files. I am not going to reformat them, although in future, I have a system in place that provides both US Letter and A4 size files. That means the next set of 365+ pictures will be bigger than this first introductory set.

After that, it’s time to set up one page that I can link to for my potential customers to visit when they receive their invitation. It might be a Sellbox page – I thought of that just now. I will think carefully about what words to use, and how to present it. Hopefully it will be perfect to keep in place for the rest of the year, for anyone interested in having a copy of the Wildersoul Colouring Book that prints out offline, and you can search through without having to enter and exit blog posts.

Now I am interested in how big the zip file will be! Hopefully not an unmanageable size. I could always break it into smaller sizes. We’ll see.

Once it is all ready, I would invite and encourage you all to spread the word to anyone, whether adults or children who enjoy colouring in for no particular reason, or anyone interested in the therapeutic side of colouring in.

These are the broad categories of people or organisations that I will be approaching:

  • Mental health service providers and users, including:
  • Counsellors
  • Therapists
  • Psychologists
  • Hospitals
  • Disability service providers and users, inlcuding:
  • Physical disabilities
  • Intellectual disabilities
  • Addictions, including:
  • Drugs
  • Alcohol
  • Prisons
  • Restorative Justice
  • Victim Support
  • Older Persons, including:
  • Rest Homes
  • Retirement Villages
  • Activities directors
  • Alzheimers
  • Hospice
  • ADHD
  • Brain Injury
  • Sexual assault
  • Adoption
  • Foster Care
  • Community services
  • Social Development – Ministry or services, including:
  • Child Youth and Family services
  • Family and Community
  • Older Persons
  • Disability

My means to reach people will be by email or phone locally, and online via WordPress blogs, Twitter groups, About.me profiles, Linked In groups, Facebook family and friends, Google Plus somehow – I am not too familiar with it yet.

I am hoping to publish my business plan sometime tomorrow too.

Time management isn’t a rigid and strict thing to me, it is a way of organising my mind so as not to be overwhelmed, while achieving goals that I set for myself. I had a bit of a sleep this afternoon to catch up, and now a bit of night shift to get my plan on to the blog. I used to do this for work when I was pregnant. I would sometimes drive in to work at 2am to get things done, when unable come in during the day. Flexibility works well for me. It makes best use of my available energy. I am off to get some sleep now. G’night!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Verses of my Destruction and commented:
    Solid business plan. You might consider looking up print on demand for people who want bound copies (upcharge) also you left schools off the list, and parents.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the reblog lostinthemist! And yes I have considered the bound copies and have to figure the best paper and binding method. It would be a pretty thick stack of colouring pages! (365+ pages) Schools is an enormous market in itself, and of course are very welcome to come forward… it is just not my main motivating force at present, as I wish to reach as many people as possible to raise awareness that colouring can help with healing. This is due to finding it very helpful in my own healing from post-traumatic stress.

      Schools and parents are of course *very very welcome* to buy the $12 colouring book download which includes the subscription to artwork on my blog for the year 2013. Today’s the day to get it all ready… I welcome emails from people who are interested in purchasing once it’s ready. Email wildersoul@gmail.com.

      Reply
  2. Sounds like a lot of work, but I support you! There’s this thing that flashes on the dashboard whenever I publish a post – headliner.fm to amplify your posts etc etc. Might be worth looking into. You can also try looking up Educents and other homeschool sites that offer coloring ebooks. I’m actually working on a review for a Christian-themed colouring book from an author I met in an FB group. If you have a *free* sample to preview I would like to take a look at it 🙂

    Reply
  3. I have the link! And will start publicizing it. To preview, or buy now – http://sbx.sk/AkD1

    Reply
  1. Comment on Time Management by My Tropical Home | ChristianBookBarn.com

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

