Transferable Skills

This is a huge list that wouldn’t really fit on a CV, so I will have to decide what to put on and what to leave off. Notably I left out the entire section on “Dealing with Data.” I pretty much burnt my brain out with analyzing data and facts, investigating, locating answers or information, classifying, comparing, inspecting, recording facts, counting, observing, compiling, research, detail-oriented… and it would not be a good job match for me at present. I can deal with it in the doses required in my home-life, and that is my limit.

Here goes – my transferable skills:

All of the Creative, Artistic section

artistic, music appreciation, dance, body movement, perform, act, draw, sketch, render, present artistic ideas, play instruments, expressive.

Working with People section

patient, care for, pleasant, counsel people, sensitive, supportive, help others, insightful, teach, anticipate needs, open-minded, kind, take orders, listen, serving, trust, working with others, understand, adaptable

Most of the Leadership section

Motivate people, plan, delegate, run meetings, direct others, explain things to others, self-motivated, get results, think of others, direct projects, team builder, solve problems, mediate problems, take risks, empowering others.

(Must note that this is the natural position of a homeschooling sole mother. Whether it transfers to any environment is the question. Those I direct and motivate are my own children.)

Some Key or Other transferable skills

Customer service oriented, accepted responsibility, desire to learn and improve, solve problems, team player, work independently, computer skills

Use my hands, assemble or make things, safety-conscious, follow instructions

And lastly, the Using Words, Ideas section

Innovative, logical, research, create new ideas, design, understand the big picture

I’ve bolded the skills which stand out to me the most. That is; artistic, draw, sketch, render, help others, adaptable, self-motivated, get results, work independently, computer skills, use my hands, assemble or make things, innovative, create new ideas, design, understand the big picture.

I will list the computer skills in a separate post. This is a different kind of CV than I have made in the past. Interesting process of looking at myself and seeing what is there which might be of use outside of the home. Apparently I can enter my CV into seek.co.nz and it will pop up with ‘suitable’ or ‘appropriate’ job vacancies relating to my skills and interests. I feel a bit weird about this, as it also puts my CV in front of possible employers, whom I do not know. This is different to what I am used to, where I have either been introduced to an employer by someone I know well, or I have searched for, and sent a letter with a CV to them, after doing some research, and choosing an employer within the field and position I wish to work in.

What seems to be overlooked by those who know nothing about homeschooling, is that it is a whole bunch of skills in itself.

The latest article I read on homeschooling: http://www.connectthethoughts.net/blog/2011/10/hard-questions-about-homeschooling-part-seven-%E2%80%93-the-world-seems-to-hate-homeschool-part-i/

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

