Put Off.

Seems like everything is being put off in some way or another. I’m sticking to the daily artwork uploads.. and that is pulling me through with some semblance of continuity.

There are many projects I want to work on. And I have a program called Trello to figure out, for visual drag and drop project management. I think that a colouring group is highest priority. I need real people to connect with.

Who knows. Maybe this is all coming down to ‘get a haircut and get a real job…’

I see so many artists, writers, musicians, filmmakers, poets, and all sorts of creative types, who have a day job, (or night job), and do their creative work outside of those hours. Perhaps that is about to happen for me too.

The future of my online colouring book was never certain. It was the start of something that I hoped would lead to work for an income, whether that was from the colouring book itself, or from the skills I learned along the way.

I have to say, I have quite fallen in love with it. And all it entails. However, work for money is now high priority. And from the last three interviews I get the overall picture that there ought not be anybody on any sort of welfare anywhere. The world has no place for the poor, the sick, the bereft. The thought of Mao Zedong “cleaning up” the streets of China looms heavy on my mind. Never mind the Bible, (John 12:8) in the words of Jesus, “For you have the poor always with you.” Not if they are killed off by the rich and powerful. The thought of my artwork pinned on the wall like some dead butterfly for someone’s greedy hope of it becoming a golden egg somehow completely puts me off creating anything of beauty or worth. It feels like creating a child to hand over to a slave trader for some pieces of silver.

So… the focus on healing is closest to my heart. That could continue whether it is my main job or not. A colouring picture a day…

Setting up a group to meet and colour… in this town, it is probably quite relevant. Many have no appreciation of the arts. Perhaps colouring in could be the very first step… to colouring outside the lines. Rather than a child learning to make marks on a blank sheet of paper, we could be working backwards, to get to the blank sheet. To undo the picture, back to the start. And start again, fresh and devoid of expectations. Throwing away the limitations to the creative mind. Allowing… letting… freeing…

As much as I would like to work on collaborations… right now it is time to advertise a colouring group.

#RollingSleevesUp #ReadyToWork

#BringOnThePeople #GoodByePTSD

#ShunMeIWillFindOthers

Who else wants to have a go organising a colouring group in their local area? Feel free to use colouring pictures from the Wildersoul Colouring Book. Let’s get sociable. Even if it is awkward.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

