Private life of me

Public life is easier with an anonymous identity. In real life, when I meet people face to face, and then sit down at my blog, I become acutely aware that that person may be looking at what I write! Reality is that they may not ever read a word I write.

Sooooooo……. (looks up at ceiling) I have to get over this self-consciousness.

Could crawling back into my shell cure the problem? (laughs)

I am also aware of my family quietly checking in on the latest news (waves – “Hi Mum!”)

All those things that come to mind to write about are quickly discarded, such as trauma, health, relationships, business progress, religion, my emotional life – especially through poetry, and pretty much everything.

The colouring book is fiiiine, it doesn’t seem to get affected by self-consciousness.

Perhaps I could don an anonymous personality purely for my writing, and start afresh! This blog actually has become pretty quiet lately, and seems to have lost a definite focus. It’s been a bit all over the place since I started to get serious about earning an income online.

If you are visiting for the first time, or a regular follower, pleeease share any tips on what you might do to get over this sort of self-consciousness. Is the anonymous way the best bet do you think?

Or would it work to dedicate this blog to a certain thing, such as poetry, and make every post a piece of poetry? I appreciate your input!

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Be yourself. As long as you are yourself, why should you be embarrassed? You should never be embarrassed to be you, the joyful, amazing person with ups, and downs, and a real life. I am really me on my blog. Maybe I don’t talk about some subjects, but I’m allowed to keep some things private. As for on-line income, no idea. My hope is to get published one day. To improve my writing. To see if people are interested in fairy tales. My family would appreciate if I made money, but I don’t know how. I just keep writing.

    Reply
  2. What Brenda said πŸ™‚
    Think of it as though you’ve donned a writing mask of sorts and…write. Then review and pick out the pieces that you want to share, holding the rest back. What you read on my blog is the real me and if that doesn’t scare you (Hey Brenda! It could make one scary fairy tale, huh? πŸ˜‰ nothing will! See? Brenda=eloquence and then there’s me. πŸ˜‰

    Online income stumps me too. I wish I knew how to generate some of my own as well.
    Especially when the money is tighter than ever and my dreams are waning. Perhaps listing on the Freelance Pages? It’s a type of online portfolio. That’s the best I’ve got in the way of suggestions. Just remember-it’s up to you. You’re the one in control. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • That got a giggle out of me, the scary fairy tale! πŸ˜‰
      Maybe if I make myself a “writing hat” to put on, and it makes me invisible to all the people I meet and talk to around town. I really like the idea of writing it all down, and then choosing what to share.
      I definitely want to continue to be myself, which is an odd kind of person…. o.O

      Reply

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

